Connect with us

Sports News

Mason Mount wins men’s Chelsea Player of the Season again



For the second year running, Mason Mount has been voted the Chelsea men’s team Player of the Season by Blues supporters.

It crowns another fantastic campaign for Mount, who at 23 became the youngest Chelsea player to register at least 10 goals and 10 assists in a single Premier League season, and only the fifth to do so. He was presented with his trophy after the game against Watford today.

Mount, who won an online poll of supporters and was run close by Thiago Silva, has once again been a bedrock of consistency in our midfield and attack.

Tasked with knitting together our play in the final third, as well as offering energy and discipline out of possession, Mount has continued to demonstrate why he is regarded as one of the most exciting young players in modern football.


Mason Mount is Chelsea FC’s 2021/22 Men’s Player of the Season – congratulations, Mason!
Mount was deployed in central midfield for a handful of matches but has mostly been used in the front three by Thomas Tuchel, and his numbers this season underline his effectiveness in that role. He leads the way for us in terms of both league goals (11) and league assists (10), as well as chances created, and his 29 goal involvements in all competitions is well clear of any other Chelsea player.

Mount also ranks top for chances created, possession won in the final third and shots. His six set-play assists are the most of any Premier League player this season, and indeed only Trent Alexander-Arnold has set up more goals in all competitions than Mount’s 16.

Mount’s set-piece delivery has been superb all season
Mount played 53 games in all, and in his first, the UEFA Super Cup victory over Villarreal, lifted a trophy. He started in Belfast despite returning late for pre-season after helping England reach the Euro 2020 final last summer, the footballing schedule in a Covid world showing no sign of relenting.

He remained one of the first names on Tuchel’s team sheet as we started strongly in league and cup, although he did have to wait a little while to find the net. When he did, against Norwich in October, the floodgates opened, and he finished the day with his first Chelsea hat-trick, in addition to setting up Reece James for another.


Mason Mount’s first Chelsea hat-trick
See all three of Mason Mount’s goals against Norwich as the midfielder netted his first senior hat-trick for the Blues!
His next seven league appearances yielded a further four goals and two assists as he hit top form despite the team wobbling. A brilliant volley away at West Ham stood out, and underlined his technical prowess.

Mount continued to feature prominently as the fixtures came thick and fast at the turn of the year, but a rare injury meant he was only able to appear briefly at the FIFA Club World Cup. He still played an important part in Chelsea lifting that trophy for the first time, though, as he came on to help settle the ship when we were under pressure late in the semi-final, and was arguably the best player on the pitch in the opening stages of the final before an ankle injury forced him off.


This was one of our goals of the season…
He returned for the Carabao Cup final a couple of weeks later and was soon back on

the scoresheet, too, netting in away wins at Norwich and Southampton. His goal set us on our way to so nearly completing a remarkable Champions League comeback against Real Madrid in the Bernabeu, with Mount also sending in a typically accurate corner for Toni Rudiger to put us 2-0 up on the night. He then sealed our FA Cup semi-final success over Crystal Palace a few days later.

With his assist at Elland Road in May, Mount reached double figures for both goals and assists in the Premier League. The magnitude of that achievement is highlighted by the fact only Didier Drogba, Frank Lampard, Eden Hazard and Juan Mata have done it before.

Mount watches on as his pass is converted by Pulisic ensuring a 10th league assist of the campaign
Mount did not deserve to miss the decisive penalty in the FA Cup final last weekend having been one of our best performers over two hard-fought hours of football against Liverpool, excellent in transition in particular. On another day he would have had a couple of assists and, at last, an FA Cup winners’ medal to his name.

Nonetheless, Mount is a worthy recipient of the Chelsea Player of the Season award for a second time. He is the 12th man to win it more than once, and at just 23 it would take a brave person to bet against him adding to that tally.

Chelsea men’s Player of the Year winners

1967 – Peter Bonetti
1968 – Charlie Cooke
1969 – David Webb
1970 – John Hollins
1971 – John Hollins
1972 – David Webb
1973 – Peter Osgood
1974 – Gary Locke
1975 – Charlie Cooke
1976 – Ray Wilkins
1977 – Ray Wilkins
1978 – Micky Droy
1979 – Tommy Langley
1980 – Clive Walker
1981 – Petar Borota
1982 – Mike Fillery
1983 – Joey Jones
1984 – Pat Nevin
1985 – David Speedie
1986 – Eddie Niedzwiecki
1987 – Pat Nevin
1988 – Tony Dorigo
1989 – Graham Roberts
1990 – Ken Monkou
1991 – Andy Townsend
1992 – Paul Elliott
1993 – Frank Sinclair
1994 – Steve Clarke
1995 – Erland Johnsen
1996 – Ruud Gullit
1997 – Mark Hughes
1998 – Dennis Wise
1999 – Gianfranco Zola
2000 – Dennis Wise
2001 – John Terry
2002 – Carlo Cudicini
2003 – Gianfranco Zola
2004 – Frank Lampard
2005 – Frank Lampard
2006 – John Terry
2007 – Michael Essien
2008 – Joe Cole
2009 – Frank Lampard
2010 – Didier Drogba
2011 – Petr Cech
2012 – Juan Mata
2013 – Juan Mata
2014 – Eden Hazard
2015 – Eden Hazard
2016 – Willian
2017 – Eden Hazard
2018 – N’Golo Kante
2019 – Eden Hazard
2020 – Mateo Kovacic
2021 – Mason Mount
2022 – Mason Mount

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2022

%d bloggers like this: